ASNPN Executive Committee

The mandate of the ASNPN Executive Committee is to enhance research and professional networking opportunities for AllerGen research trainees, research staff and new professionals. The ASNPN Executive Committee comprises a maximum of 10 elected members and a past President. The Executive Committee is a national, multidisciplinary team, representing different regions, official languages, educational levels and AllerGen Legacy Projects and Enabling Platforms.

ASNPN Executive Committee (2017-2019)

President - Laura Feldman, Hospital for Sick Children

feldmanLaura Feldman, ASNPN President

Hospital for Sick Children

Laura received her B.Sc. in Environment and Health from The University of Toronto in 2014, and her Masters of Public Health degree from The Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto, in 2016. From 2011 to 2016, Laura was supervised by AllerGen investigator Dr. Teresa To, focusing on asthma surveillance and the identification of risk factors for asthma. Through this work, Laura developed expertise in the use of health administrative data for epidemiological research, and also developed an interest in the growing field of spatial epidemiology—a field she hopes to explore further.

In 2015, Laura received an International Trainee Research Visit grant from AllerGen to conduct a 4-month-long research project at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden, under the supervision of Dr. Anna Bergström; the aim of her project was to assess the impact of early-life exposures to secondhand smoke on the risk of developing food hypersensitivity into adolescence. Laura is also a three-time recipient of the AllerGen Undergraduate Summer Studentship, and she previously served as a member-at-large.

Laura is presently working, for a one-year term, with Dr. To at the Hospital for Sick Children.

Vice President - Loubna Akhabir, McMaster University

Loubna Akhabir, ASNPN Vice-President

McMaster University

Dr. Akhabir is a . She received her PhD in … in 201.., under the supervision of …, focusing on …..

Events Director - Mark Tenn, Queen's University

TennMark Tenn, ASNPN Events Director

Queen’s University

Mark is a Masters of Science candidate at Queen’s University under the supervision of AllerGen investigator Dr. Anne Ellis. Mark’s research interests include immunology, allergic airway diseases and food allergies, particularly peanut-induced anaphylaxis. Mark joined the ASNPN in 2014, while an undergraduate student at McMaster University. In 2015, Mark received an AllerGen Summer Studentship and worked with McMaster professors Dr. Mark Larché and Dr. Susan Waserman on “Peptide immunotherapy for prevention of peanut sensitization in a murine model.”.

Communications Director - Jasemine Yang, University of British Columbia

JasemineJasemine Yang, Communications Director

The University of British Columbia

Jasemine received her B. Sc. in Cell Biology and Genetics from The University of British Columbia (UBC). Currently, Jasemine is a PhD candidate in Experimental Medicine working under the supervision of Dr. Delbert Dorscheid at UBC’s Centre for Heart Lung Innovation. Her research focuses on mechanisms of normal airway epithelial repair and examining defects in these processes that contribute to the pathogenesis of asthma. Specifically, she is investigating the role of interleukin-13 receptors in normal airway epithelial repair and identifying relevant phenotypic markers in these signaling pathways that can be used to better phenotype asthmatic patients for biologic therapies.

An AllerGen CAIDATI award recipient, Jasemine has been an active member of the ASNPN and AllerGen-NCE for several years.

Pacific Director - Young Woong Kim, The University of British Columbia

Young Woong Kim, Pacific Director

The University of British Columbia

Central Director - Eduardo Reyes-Serratos, University of Alberta

EduardoEduardo Reyes-Serratos, Central Director (Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba)

University of Alberta

Ontario Director - Garthika Navaranjan, University of Toronto

Garthika Navaranjan, Ontario Director

University of Toronto

Québec/Atlantic Director - Vacant

Vacant, Québec/Atlantic Director

Nominations remain open for this position.

Member-at-large - Brittany Matenchuk, University of Alberta

Brittany Matenchuk, Member-at-large

University of Alberta

Member-at-large - Mahmond Mostafa, University of Calgary

Mahmond Mostafa, Member-at-large

University of Calgary

Past ASNPN Executives